As your family adjusts to living with some food restrictions there are foods you always will need to avoid. In today’s world you will see that ingredients are not so straight forward. Milk is not just milk. This is a list of foods to avoid. If you are ever in doubt about an ingredient do not feed that food to your child. 

For an Milk-free diet please avoid:

Butter, butter fat, butter oil, butter acid, butter ester

Buttermilk

Casein

Casein hydrolysate

Caseinates (in all forms)

Cheese

Cottage Cheese

Cream

Curds

Custard

Diacetyl

Ghee

Half- and- half

Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate

Lactoferrin

Lactose

Lactulose

Milk (in all forms like condensed, derivative, dry, evaporated, goat’s milk, milk from all other animals, lowfat, malted, milk fat, nonfat, powder, protein, skimmed, solid, whole

Milk protein hydrolysate

Pudding

Recaident

Rennet casein

Sour cream, sour cream solids

Sour milk solids

Tagatose

Whey (in all forms)

Why protein hydrolysate

Yogurt

 

Milk is sometimes found in:

Artificial butter flavor

Baked goods

Caramel candies

Chocolate

Lactic acid starter

Culture and other bacterial cultures

Luncheon meat, hot dogs, sausages

Margarine

Nisin

Non Dairy products

Nougat

Avoid foods that contain wheat or any of these:

Bread crumbs

Bulgur

Cereal extract

Club wheat

Couscous

Craker Meal

Durum

Einkorn

Emmer

Farina

Flour (all purpose, bread, cake, durum, enriched, graham, high gluten, high protein, instant pastry, self-rising, soft wheat, steel ground, stone ground, whole wheat)

Hydolyzed wheat protein

Kamut

Matzoh, matzoh meal (matzo, matzah, matza)

Pasta

Seitan

Semolina

Spelt

Sprouted wheat

Triticale

Vital wheat gluten

Wheat (bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts, starch)

Wheat bran hydrolysate

Wheat germ oil

Wheat grass

Wheat protein isolate

Whole wheat berries

 

Wheat is sometimes found in:

Glucose syrup

Oats

Soy sauce

Starch (gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch, vegetable starch)

Surimi

For an Egg-free diet please avoid:
Albumin or Albumen

Egg (dried, powdered, solids, white, yok)

Egg (chicken, duck, turkey, goose, quail)

Egg nog

Globulin

Livetin

Lysozyme

Mayonnaise

Meringue (meringue powder)

Surimi

Vitellin

Words starting with Ovo, or Ova like ovalbumin

 

Egg is sometimes in:

Baked goods

Breaded items

Drink foam (cocktails, specialty coffee)

Egg substitutes

Fried rice

Ice cream

Lecithin

Marzipan

Marshmallows

Meatloaf, meatballs

Nougat

Pasta

 

For a Soy-free diet please avoid:

Edamame

Miso

Natto

Soy (soy albumin, soy cheese, soy fiber, soy flour, soy grits, soy ice cream, soy milk, soy nuts, soy sprouts, soy yogurt)

Soya

Soybean (curd, granules)

Soy protein (concentrate, hydrolozed isolate)

Shoyu

Soy sauce

Tamari

Tempeh

Textured Vegetable protein

Tofu

 

Sometimes soy is in:

Asian cuisine

Veg broth

Veg gum

Veg starch

 

Most people that are soy allergic do not need to avoid:

Soy Lecithin

Soy bean oil

These are both highly processed and have very little soy protein.

For a peanut-free diet avoid:

Artificial nuts

Beer nuts

Cold pressed, expeller pressed, or extruded peanut oil

Goobers

Ground nuts

Mixed nuts

Monkey nuts

Nut pieces

Nut meat

Peanut butter

Peanut flour

Peanut protein hydrolysate

 

Peanut is sometimes found in the following:

African, Asian (especially Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai, and Vietnamese) and Mexican dishes

Baked goods (e.g. pastries, cookies)

Candy (including chocolate candy)

Chili

Egg Rolls

Enchilada sauce

Marzipan

Mole sauce

Nougat

For a tree nut free diet avoid:

Almond

Artificial nuts

Beechnut

Brazil nut

Butternut

Cashew

Chestnut

Chinquapin nut

Filbert/hazelnut

Gianduja (a chocolate-nut mixture)

Ginkgo nut

Hickory nut

Litchi/lychee/lycheenut

Macadamia nut

Marzipan/almond paste

Nangai nut

Natural nut extract (e.g. almond, walnut)

Nut butters (e.g. cashew butter)

Nut meal

Nut meat

Nut paste (e.g. almond paste)

Nut pieces

Pecan

Pesto

Pili nut

Pine nut (also referred to as Indian, pignoli, pignolia, pignon, pinon, and pinyon nut)

Pistachio

Praline

Shea nut

Walnut

Tree nuts are sometimes found in:

Black walnut hull extract (flavoring)

Natural nut extract

Nut distillates/alcoholic extracts

Nut oils (e.g. walnut oil, almond oil)

Walnut hull extract (flavoring)

 

For a Shellfish-Free Diet please avoid:

Barnacle

Crab

Crawfish (crawdad, crayfish, ecrevisse)

Krill

Lobster (langouste, langoustine, Moreton bay bugs, scampi, tornalley)

Prawns

Shrimp (crevette, scampi)

 

Your doctor may advise you to avoid mollusks or these ingredients:

Abalone

Clams (cherrystone, geoduck, littleneck, pismo, quahog)

Cockle

Cuttlefish

Limpet (lapas, opihi)

Mussels

Octopus

Periwinkle

Scallops

Sea cucumber

Sea urchin

Snails (escargot)

Squid (calamari)

Whelk (Turban shell)

 

Shellfish are sometimes found in the following:

Bouillabaisse

Cuttlefish ink

Glucosamine

Fish Stock

Seafood flavoring (e.g. crab or clam extract)

Surimi

 

Fish is sometimes found in the following:

Barbecue sauce

Bouillabaisse

Caesar salad

Caviar

Deep fried items

Fish flavoring

Fish flour

Fish fume

Fish gelatin (kosher gelatin, marine gelatin)

Fish oil

Fish sauce imitation fish or shellfish isinglass lutefish maw, maws (fish maw)

Fish stock

Fishmeal

Nuoc mam (Vietnamese name for fish sauce; beware of other ethnic names)

Pizza (anchovy topping)

Roe

Salad dressing

Seafood flavoring

Shark cartilage

Shark fin

Surimi

Sushi, sashimi

Worcestershire sauce